What Happens to SkyDrive Pro Sites When Removing an SPO License

Posted on Updated on

SPO

For those SharePoint Online Admins who are responsible for licensing and site cleanup, this post is for you.  A great write-up on this can be found here, however for brevity’s sake, the important information is listed below:

Source: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/kaevans/archive/2012/06/25/top-recommendations-for-managing-the-my-site-cleanup-timer-job.aspx

Note – While the above references SharePoint 2010, using the MySites Moniker for people’s personal SharePoint sites, SharePoint Online 2013 references SkyDrive Pro as the new name for this feature.  While the above reference is to SharePoint 2010, the SkyDrive Pro/MySite “clean-up” process is still used in SharePoint 2013.

The My Site Cleanup Job is responsible for deleting user profiles and My Sites of those users.  This includes the following activities:

  1. Remove user profiles that are queued for deletion.
  2. If those users have a My Site, assign the  user’s manager as the SPSite.SecondaryContact.  Email the manager letting them know that the user’s My Site will be deleted in 14 days.
  3. 11 days after the first notification, email the manager again letting them know that the My Site will be deleted in 3 days.
  4. After a total of 14 days, delete the MySite.

Whatcha thinkin?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s